The Words of My 18 Year Old Self

Call me crazy, but I actually kept the essays I wrote my senior year of high school. I think at some point a teacher pointed out that they might come in useful in college. That didn’t happen, but I did get an idea last week when I didn’t have a planned blog. This week I found myself not knowing what I’d blog about, so now those essays are going to come in handy on this blog. If you read my blog every week, you’ve probably gotten a sense of my writing style, if I have one, so I thought it’d be cool to share something I wrote eight years ago. (I also can’t believe I was a senior in high school EIGHT years ago!) This particular excerpt is from an essay I wrote about a book we read in my composition and rhetoric class. (I’m pretty sure that I didn’t read the whole book and wrote this the night before it was due. You’ll notice how I barely talk about the book at all, though this isn’t the whole essay. Yay procrastination!) According to my works cited page, the book was called Maiden Voyage and was written by Tania Aebi. The only thing I actually remember about the book is that the author sailed around the world solo. So without further ado, here’s some words I wrote as a high school senior! (Hopefully this isn’t too embarrassing.)

(The first quote is from near the end of the book.)
We often take what we have at the moment for granted. “I could have walked faster than Varuna was sailing and I felt like jumping off the boat and running over the water to land.” Although when in context this quote does not have much meaning, it does make for a good analogy. All through our lives we are looking forward to the next step, not enjoying what we have right now. All through high school we look forward to college; we want to jump off the boat and run towards the land, but now as we get ready to graduate in a few weeks we realize that that land is closer than we want it to be. I have looked forward to graduating and going to college all through high school. Up until a few weeks ago, I have been extremely excited for graduation, but when I went to the post office the other day to mail off my graduation announcements, I realized how close I am to leaving high school behind forever. Throughout this year I have become closer to a lot of friends, some people I didn’t even know before this year, or even November, (not sure why I felt to add the November part…) and I am wishing that we would have become closer long ago. I feel like I haven’t had enough time to get to know them as well as I should. I have also started to get along better with people that I have never got along very well with in the past. I sometimes wish that I could start my high school journey over again in the middle of the ocean, my boat far away from the land, but I will always regret something and feel the same way when I get to this point, no matter how man time I get to start over. I can’t start my high school journey over again though. It is about time for me to jump off of my boat onto the land and start a new journey, a new chapter in my life. After I came to this realization, I started to make the most of the time I have left in high school and appreciate everything that I currently have. Leaving behind my life that I have known for four years will be incredibly difficult, especially feeling like I haven’t had enough time here. It will be hard for me to start my new journey. For most of us our journeys will most likely be much easier than Tania’s. Going to college or starting a career seems to me to be much less challenging than sailing around the world alone. Starting our new journeys will be hard for all of us, but no matter how much we might want to, we can’t stay right where we are forever.

There you have it folks! This paper is dated May 1, 2008 and I graduated on the 17th that same month, so it was pretty timely. I used a lot of really long sentences, and I still do, but the idea of my final statement remains true. Don’t be afraid of what’s to come! Embrace the future! When I wrote this, I had no idea what my future had in store. All I knew is that I was going to Missouri State University. I never could have imagined all of the crazy experiences I’d have or all of the amazing people I’d meet!

And just to add a photo somewhat relevant to the blog, here I am during my senior year of high school (I had to return that hoodie, but I really wish I still had it!):
ice skating

Leave a Reply

