Thai Chicken Curry

For something a little less serious than my previous blog posts, I decided to share a recipe that I tried recently. I found it quite delicious!

Here’s an instagram photo of it! (Note that the bowl I was eating out of was quite large and the rice was hidden underneath!)

Ingredients
1 14-ounce can unsweetened coconut milk; whisked to blend
1 1/4 tsp Thai curry paste
1 large red bell pepper, cut into 1/3 inch-wide strips
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1 pound chicken tenders, cut crosswise in half
1 tbsp packed brown sugar
1 tbsp fish sauce
1 cup chopped tomatoes
1/3 cup thinly sliced fresh basil, or 1 tbsp dried basil
1 tbsp fresh lime juice*
Rice

Preparation
Bring 1/4 cup coconut milk and curry paste to boil in large skillet over medium-high heat, whisking constantly. Add bell pepper and onion; saute 5 minutes. Stir in chicken, remaining coconut milk, sugar and fish sauce. Cook until chicken is cooked through, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, basil, and lime juice, and simmer 1 minute. Serve over rice.

*I used the lime juice that comes in a bottle and it worked fine. Just make sure to actually measure it because I guessed and used a tad too much I think.

This recipe was delicious and not too hard to make! I made sure to have all of my ingredients chopped and measured before hand so that I could just throw them in when it was time. It didn’t take too long to make. Chopping the vegetables was the most time consuming part! Don’t be afraid if you don’t like coconut or curry because neither flavor is super strong.

Leave a Reply

